Beta
×

Welcome to the Slashdot Beta site -- learn more here. Use the link in the footer or click here to return to the Classic version of Slashdot.

Thank you!

Before you choose to head back to the Classic look of the site, we'd appreciate it if you share your thoughts on the Beta; your feedback is what drives our ongoing development.

Beta is different and we value you taking the time to try it out. Please take a look at the changes we've made in Beta and  learn more about it. Thanks for reading, and for making the site better!

Judge Dismisses Google's Complaint Over Android Code Viewing

samzenpus posted more than 3 years ago | from the it's-outta-here dept.

Android 87

CWmike writes "A U.S. trade judge has rejected Google's move to block the testimony of a Microsoft expert witness in the dispute with Motorola over patents allegedly used by Android. Last week, Google accused Microsoft of violating a confidentiality agreement struck between Microsoft, Motorola and Google in the ITC case. The judge rejected Google's motion on Monday. 'The ALJ [Administrative Law Judge] finds no basis to discern from Google's statement whether Google made a reasonable, good-faith effort to resolve the matter with Microsoft,' he wrote in his ruling."

Sorry! There are no comments related to the filter you selected.

Suing themselves (1)

muffen (321442) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124386)

If google looses, they'd just be paying themselves. Only the lawyers will be winners in this case.... wonder if thats happened before.

Re:Suing themselves (2)

WindBourne (631190) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124464)

MS is suing Motorola, not Google suing Motorola.

Re:Suing themselves (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37124496)

If google looses, they'd just be paying themselves.

They should tighten up their act then.

Re:Suing themselves (2)

DJRumpy (1345787) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124962)

Just in case anyone is curious and doesn't want to read TFA, the issue is that MS allowed an oust side consultant to view the source code provided my Motorola. Motorola's beef is that they had confidentiality agreements with MS. The judge stated that Google has no stake in the game and that Motorola would have to file a complaint.

The gist of the article is that MS believes their consultant found some dirt on Android and it's code, which Google seems to think will be very damaging to it's (Motorola's) case, and as a result, all Android devices.

Google's complaint centered around Stevenson, who Microsoft allowed to review Android source code. Google said it had not been told beforehand that Stevenson would see what it called "confidential" code so "highly proprietary...that Google does not even share with its partners, such as Motorola."

In an interview last week, German patent activist and analyst Florian Mueller said that Google's attempt to block Stevenson was no more than a speed bump in the case, which he sees as potentially harmful to Android if Microsoft wins.

"I think Google is extremely afraid of the outcome of this particular ITC investigation," said Mueller last week. "If this investigation finds Motorola and, in fact, all Android devices to infringe various valid Microsoft patents, all of Google's hardware partners will have to pay royalties to Microsoft."

I can't help but feel Google has really blundered here. I don't know if its' simply because they never had such intense competition in markets they were in (primarily search/ad revenue) and just taken by surprise, or they just assumed they could make agreements with companies who are in it for the long haul and unwilling to bargain. They know they have Google over a barrel or at least think they do, and Google has nothing to bargain with. I think it was naive of Google to assume these handset vendors would descend themselves and still remain loyal to Android if things go badly.

Re:Suing themselves (1)

DJRumpy (1345787) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124988)

Damn, hate it when I do that.
"I think it was naive of Google to assume these handset vendors would defend themselves and still remain loyal to Android if things go badly."

Re:Suing themselves (3, Insightful)

bonch (38532) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126474)

I thought it was funny that Google and Android are supposed to be so open, yet they were trying to suppress source code they considered "highly proprietary."

Re:Suing themselves (1)

mcvos (645701) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126952)

Exactly what I thought. Isn't it supposed to be open in the first place? What's the confidentiality agreement for?

Re:Suing themselves (2)

MiG33 (2440442) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126980)

Same here when I read about this. I'm still also surprised slashdot crowd believes all the crap Google says, even when the truth has hit them in the face so many times lately and before.

The truth is, almost all of Google's products are proprietary. Since they piggybacked on Linux kernel they had to open up Android some. Yet they still manage to withhold distributing said code for months at a time. A thing slashdot crowd would demand billions of damages to other companies for GPL violation. However, when it's Google it must be okay because they say they're not evil. Sigh.

Re:Suing themselves (1)

mcvos (645701) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127022)

I still generally like Google in most things (though I switched to DuckDuckGo for my main search engine), but their approach to open source is definitely questionable at times.

Re:Suing themselves (2)

GooberToo (74388) | more than 3 years ago | (#37130018)

Can you please be more specific? I constantly see people say the things you say and without fail, they always prove to be completely baseless. Must like what started this whole thread.

To what violations do you refer?

Re:Suing themselves (1)

DJRumpy (1345787) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127802)

According to the article, the code in question wasn't even being supplied to handset vendors. In any case, this isn't a breach of contract of the person MS showed it to was also under a confidentiality agreement and currently employed by MS (Note: IANAL). It does seem odd though that the source is supposed to be open but they are stating it is proprietary info.

Re:Suing themselves (1)

jdfox (74524) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127382)

Just in case anyone is curious and doesn't want to read TFA, the issue is that MS allowed an oust side consultant to view the source code provided my Motorola.

An "oust side" consultant: what an excellent egg corn [wikipedia.org] ! :-)

Re:Suing themselves (2)

Big Smirk (692056) | more than 3 years ago | (#37130498)

The gist of the article is that MS believes their consultant found some dirt on Android and it's code, which Google seems to think will be very damaging to it's (Motorola's) case, and as a result, all Android devices.

You have to understand how lawsuits work. Team A says they want to get the defendant's middle name, Team B, although they don't see the harm, they move to block it because they will not give Team A a single sliver of evidence that isn't specifically needed.

I was involved in a lawsuit where our lawyer actually blocked the subpoena of meeting minutes - which we had and which we believed supported our claim - because it wasn't necessary (you could just subpoena all the people that were there). Had me worried because the recollection of other people in the meeting seemed to be 'off' (against us). At trial, our lawyer the opposition's story went wild (the exaggerated, lied, made up things etc.) and our lawyer beat them up over it. "You were quoted saying this to the newspaper, you said this in your deposition, and now you say this at trial. Which version is the truth?"

Bottom line, limit the other side's information, limit what they can present in court, and finally, limit the arguments they can make. Chess is a lot easier if you whittle it down to just a few pieces left on the board.

Case dismissed (1)

perpenso (1613749) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124504)

If google looses, they'd just be paying themselves. Only the lawyers will be winners in this case.... wonder if thats happened before.

IIRC when a defendant buys the plaintiff the case is normally dismissed.

Re:Case dismissed (1)

bws111 (1216812) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124590)

Maybe that is the case. However, the defendant is Motorola, and the plaintiff is Microsoft, so that does not apply.

Re:Suing themselves (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37124654)

What if they tight?

No standing? (2, Insightful)

wsxyz (543068) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124402)

What I get out of this is that the judge says that it's none of Google's business because the lawsuit is between Microsoft & Motorola.

By the way, what is this ultra secret, mega proprietary Android source code anyway? I thought Android was open source. Didn't Andy Rubin define "open" as the ability to download and compile the source?

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37124424)

But Google just bought Motorola. Now it is their business.

Re:No standing? (1)

Lifyre (960576) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124568)

It hasn't been finalized yet. Buying a company isn't like buying Twinkies or Cheetos, it can take months or even years to finalize a purchase.

Re:No standing? (2)

rk (6314) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124740)

You've obviously never been confronted with the vast array of Cheetos now available on the market. I'm still waiting on the final results from my research team before I can make a decision between the Cheetos Fantastix Chili Cheese Flavored and the Crunchy Flamin' Hot Limon Cheese varieties.

Re:No standing? (1)

Lifyre (960576) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125554)

At least Twinkies are still dependable...

Re:No standing? (1)

Yamioni (2424602) | more than 3 years ago | (#37131440)

Not if you're in a post apocalyptic world with zombies running amok.

God-Damn Sno Balls!

Re:No standing? (1)

sexconker (1179573) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124772)

It hasn't been finalized yet. Buying a company isn't like buying Twinkies or Cheetos, it can take months or even years to finalize a purchase.

It can take months or even years to "finalize a purchase" of Twinkies or Cheetos, too.
If you know what I mean.
(I'm talking about poop.)

Re:No standing? (2)

crutchy (1949900) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127032)

if it takes you months to "finalize" anything you eat you need to go see a quack... and you're full of shit (as it were)

Re:No standing? (1, Informative)

chaboud (231590) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124442)

This could be, for instance, private keys for market signatures, etc. There are some bits that you show *nobody* if you want things to be even remotely secure.

Microsoft did actually screw up on this one. There was a clear procedure for disclosure in this case. Google was supposed to have been notified in advance of the inclusion of a 3rd party and be given 10 days to object. That process was violated.

Clearly, Google's lawyers don't play enough golf.

Re:No standing? (1)

CharlyFoxtrot (1607527) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124570)

This could be, for instance, private keys for market signatures, etc. There are some bits that you show *nobody* if you want things to be even remotely secure.

Come on this isn't rainman, he's not going to memorize a private key. It's probably some secret sauce in the Google Android apps, which aren't open source.

Re:No standing? (4, Funny)

ozmanjusri (601766) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125890)

Come on this isn't rainman, he's not going to memorize a private key.

Protip: Ctrl c, Ctrl v.

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37126478)

What will sending an interrupt to the app do again? and Ctrl v does nothing...

Re:No standing? (1)

mcvos (645701) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126942)

Ctrl v does nothing...

Ctr-V quotes the next character, which is useful if it's a special one. Try typing Ctrl-M, for example. Now try Ctrl-V Ctrl-M.

Re:No standing? (1)

CharlyFoxtrot (1607527) | more than 3 years ago | (#37129492)

Hah, for some reason I envisaged them taking him into a room on the Google campus where he could browse the code on a workstation with no outside connection and a legal pad for taking notes. If they just sent him a tarball of the code why even include the secrets part Microsoft would have to ask permission to view ?

Ignorant judge? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37133262)

Microsoft did actually screw up on this one. There was a clear procedure for disclosure in this case.

Why did the judge ignore this?

Re:Ignorant judge? (1)

chaboud (231590) | more than 3 years ago | (#37150264)

Hence the golf joke.

I'm guessing his answer to Google's dumbfounded attorneys was likely "because fuck you. That's why..."

Google may suffer from hiring attorneys with the same sort of beautifully hopeful world view that they have. That's probably a bad idea. Lawyers should be hopelessly corrupt bastards.

They just need to be on *your* side...

Re:No standing? (3, Funny)

CharlyFoxtrot (1607527) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124470)

By the way, what is this ultra secret, mega proprietary Android source code anyway? I thought Android was open source. Didn't Andy Rubin define "open" as the ability to download and compile the source?

All the source is open but some is more open than others. Now let's all stop posing awkward questions and focus on how evil Apple and Facebook are, those damn liberal elites and lame-stream social media that hate us real internetians.

Re:No standing? (0, Flamebait)

E IS mC(Square) (721736) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124548)

>> All the source is open but some is more open than others.

Please go on. Don't be shy. And if you can't provide the evidence, please just shut the fuck up with your Apple whoring.

Re:No standing? (4, Insightful)

CharlyFoxtrot (1607527) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124664)

>> All the source is open but some is more open than others.

Please go on. Don't be shy. And if you can't provide the evidence, please just shut the fuck up with your Apple whoring.

"Over the past few months, according to several people familiar with the matter, Google has been demanding that Android licensees abide by "non-fragmentation clauses" that give Google the final say on how they can tweak the Android code [businessweek.com] —to make new interfaces and add services—and in some cases whom they can partner with."

Or I could have just said: Honeycomb. "Open" indeed.

BTW, they have pills for Tourette's now.

Re:No standing? (2)

E IS mC(Square) (721736) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124768)

Or you can say that anybody can take the code, fork it and do whatever they want.

Or...

"mkdir android ;cd android ; repo init -u git://android.git.kernel.org/platform/manifest.git ;repo sync ;make"

Now weep.

Re:No standing? (1)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37124876)

I tried that. Now, where's Maps and all the rest that's supposed to be part of "The Android Experience?" And where do I install the binary?

But what I really would like to know: what's with all the complile time errors?

Boo-hoo.

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37125120)

Maps? You mean one of those non-open apps that Cyanogen was sent a C&D for including by default in his namesake ROM?

Don't confuse Android itself with private projects that are made available for free download. If you don't like the source for the one that Google offers, use a different one.

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37124878)

Thanks for showing us all how to get Android 2.3.

Re:No standing? (1)

rickb928 (945187) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125096)

What you said.

Re:No standing? (1)

wsxyz (543068) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125606)

That's exactly the point. If that's how open Android is, what could be so sooper secret about the code that Google didn't want anyone to see?

RF firmware? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37127532)

You know, that stuff that is so sooper secret because you could "overclock" your antenna and manage to violate FCC rules on regulated spectrum use, therefore YOU ARE BANNED from knowing what the firmware is.

Or the keylock keys that sign code. E.g. Apple or Microsoft (or, indeed, Tivo's) signing code that lets you decide whether you can upload another OS to the hardware and run it.

Re:No standing? (4, Insightful)

bonch (38532) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126490)

What do you do when Google withholds the source for months like they did with Honeycomb? Add a sleep command in there?

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37128150)

The source for Honeycomb is, by all accounts, a pile of hacked-together garbage.

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37125062)

>> All the source is open but some is more open than others.

Please go on. Don't be shy. And if you can't provide the evidence, please just shut the fuck up with your Apple whoring.

"Over the past few months, according to several people familiar with the matter, Google has been demanding that Android licensees abide by "non-fragmentation clauses" that give Google the final say on how they can tweak the Android code [businessweek.com] —to make new interfaces and add services—and in some cases whom they can partner with."

Or I could have just said: Honeycomb. "Open" indeed.

BTW, they have pills for Tourette's now.

It's a little bit irony that the article at the link you provided has the following conclusion, which of course, you conveniently forgot to mention: -

The bottom line: Despite grumblings, Google's Android mobile operating system is still open—it's just getting more heavily policed.

Re:No standing? (2)

ceoyoyo (59147) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125572)

I think maybe we have different ideas of "open."

"Here's the source, have fun looking, but here's what you're not allowed to do with it" isn't.

So "more heavily policed" == less open. Thus the OPs point: some parts of Android are more open than others.

Re:No standing? (1)

craigc05 (2377254) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125746)

You're thinking "free", Microsoft and Apple both have "open" licenses.

Re:No standing? (1)

ceoyoyo (59147) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125876)

And Google too, apparently.

Re:No standing? (1)

crutchy (1949900) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127066)

Microsoft licenses open? WTF... yeah maybe an open can of worms (embrace, extend and extinguish). Apple? Never heard of it. Must be some kind of fruit company you're mixed up with.

Re:No standing? (1)

Yamioni (2424602) | more than 3 years ago | (#37131486)

BTW, they have pills for Tourette's now.

I've seen those! They're red, and round, and usually have a strap that goes around the back of your head.

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37132920)

The non-fragmentation clauses have been there since the beginning, and just require OEMs to conform to the same public API. It has *nothing* to do with custom UIs or anything like that (in short, that article is hopelessly wrong - largely because nobody in the media actually knows what "fragmentation" means). Moreover, you only need to play by Google's rules if you want to use the "with Google" branding or pre-load the Google apps.

Second, there are major parts of "Android" that are not in AOSP (Android Open Source Project). The Google apps, for example, or driver code. It is not in AOSP, never was in AOSP, and probably never will be in AOSP.

I bet U take those Tourette's pills too (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37137868)

Speaking from experience are you? Do they have pills 4 your jackass condition, douchebag drinker??

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37124904)

If you treat ASM as source, every application available in binary form is in fact open source.

Re:No standing? (1)

crutchy (1949900) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127082)

i'm a biological system and i operate things like computers, so that must make me an "operating system"

Re:No standing? (1)

petermgreen (876956) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127846)

At least per the GPL definition of source ASM may or may not be source just as C may or may not be source. What matters is not what language it is in but whether or not it is the "preffered form of the work for making modifications".

Re:No standing? (3, Interesting)

bonch (38532) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126486)

Have you not been following Android news in the last few months? Google withholds Android source from non-privileged partners, and they use compatibility clauses to control how vendors use Android. There have even been accusations from vendors that they throw out artificial obstacles for phones that use competing services like Bing. A Google email said they "use compatibility as a club to make [vendors] do what we want."

Re:No standing? (2)

andydread (758754) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127794)

Have you not been following Android news in the last few months? Google withholds Android source from non-privileged partners, and they use compatibility clauses to control how vendors use Android. There have even been accusations from vendors that they throw out artificial obstacles for phones that use competing services like Bing. A Google email said they "use compatibility as a club to make [vendors] do what we want."

[citation-needed]

Re:No standing? (1)

crutchy (1949900) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127114)

"open source" doesn't necessarily mean "free". i'm sure if you paid microsoft enough money you could have access to Windows source code too. that's why the term "free and open source" was coined. there's also freedom and there's free beer. android source is apparently free as in free beer. just because you're not allowed to do anything with it (without google's permission) doesn't mean its not free. its just not free as in freedom.

Re:No standing? (2)

the linux geek (799780) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124482)

Where can I download the source to Android 3, 3.1, or 3.2?

Re:No standing? (2)

geekoid (135745) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124578)

Microsoft, apparently.

Re:No standing? (0)

ozmanjusri (601766) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125932)

Where can I download the source to Android 3, 3.1, or 3.2?

From vendors.

You can get the Asus Transformer versions here: http://www.asus.com/Eee/Eee_Pad/Eee_Pad_Transformer_TF101/#download [asus.com]

Re:No standing? (1)

the linux geek (799780) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126378)

That's just the GPL'd kernel source - in other words, barely-modified Linux kernel. Real useful.

Re:No standing? (1)

rdnetto (955205) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127178)

It actually is pretty useful - thanks to it, mine is running Ubuntu now.

But I do agree that it's completely separate to the Android source.

Re:No standing? (1)

Jonner (189691) | more than 3 years ago | (#37133254)

Where can I download the source to Android 3, 3.1, or 3.2?

Indeed, the source they're referring to could be some that has not yet been released under a Free/Open Source license. If Google is the copyright holder, they have no legal obligation to release it though this is harmful to the Android community. However, it seems unlikely that unreleased code implements some patent, but the released code doesn't.

Re:No standing? (1)

SideshowBob (82333) | more than 3 years ago | (#37134378)

Then they should stop calling it open.

Here is the source to most of OS X (including the most recent version which was released mere weeks ago:) http://www.opensource.apple.com/ [apple.com]

The AOSP is no more open than, and in some ways arguably more closed than Apple's OS, and yet Google is somehow the darling of the open source world.

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37149326)

How many usable third-party builds of OSX are there? How many usable third-party builds of Android are there?

Funny that the answer for OSX is zero (please correct me if I am wrong) when AOSP is "in some ways arguably more closed than Apple's OS", isn't it?

Maybe you should stop looking at the world through your apple-tinted glasses.

Re:No standing? (1)

gl4ss (559668) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126830)

Didn't Andy Rubin define "open" as the ability to download and compile the source?

yeah he did. he just didn't define which source or from which machine! (surely he can just apt-get it himself, but not so true for the rest of us to the extend you might have thought from his definition).

Re:No standing? (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37130462)

Google bought Motorola so this is their business now.

10th story and counting (-1)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37124420)

What's slashdot's sudden 'love' for google? My goodness... 10th story in last three days, constant bashing..

Did google steal your toys, slashdot?

Re:10th story and counting (1)

Idbar (1034346) | more than 3 years ago | (#37124572)

Well, Google is all over the news, because EVERYONE is scared with their move. Note that even cable companies are intrigued about the move on the tv-boxes used by many companies. There's a lot going out with the move, so it seems reasonable hearing "bashing" and excitement depending their perspective.

Re:10th story and counting (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37125196)

Didn't you get the memo? It's now popular to hate Google.

What changed, you ask? Well, they got successful and nerds are basically hipsters in disguise.

Re:10th story and counting (2)

bonch (38532) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126504)

Didn't you get the memo? It's now popular to hate Google.

People tend to hate closed-source, proprietary megacorporations that say one thing but do another.

Re:10th story and counting (1)

TheRaven64 (641858) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127654)

What changed, you ask?

Oh, I know the answer to this one! Their CEO made public statements against privacy, they collected huge amounts of data about everyone that make things like the proposed UK ID database look like children's toys, and they decided that copyright was something that only applied to other people.

Re:10th story and counting (0)

YetAnotherForumAcc (2431122) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125302)

They claim "don't be evil".

Yet over the years, they have been quite evil in some ways.

Their relationship with Apple irks me to some extend, they pretend to be their friend, while secretly plotting against them with their CEO hanging around as a mole. [1]
You want to compete? Fine. Announce your intention upfront, and fight it out in the open. WTF is with the industrial espionage?

Now they bought up Motorola ... I wonder how companies like Sony Ericsson, HTC etc. feels about it.
Samsung I know are shifting resources to their other Badu (or whatever it's call) OS.

Formerly partners, all of a sudden with no warning they became competitors.
I'm beginning to see a pattern here. [2]

[1] Jobs obviously got the wind of it after a while and hide the iPad from Schmidt. Look where Android tablets are now without the "help".
[2] I used to blame MS for all the BS they pulled, backstabbing of partners and the like, but I'm beginning to believe that they aren't an "exception", that all companies are like that. That it's just the way the game is played. All praise Capitalism!!!

Re:10th story and counting (1)

symbolset (646467) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125454)

That word "evil". I don't think it means what you think it means. This is evil: Plamondon [groklaw.net] . Do you see the difference?

Re:10th story and counting (1)

YetAnotherForumAcc (2431122) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125568)

To me, evil = ethically questionable or worst.

Google to me has crossed that line, at least their mobile division.

"Feigning" friendship and "betraying"/turning on your partners definitely qualifies as "evil" in my book.

Re:10th story and counting (1)

E IS mC(Square) (721736) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125680)

While the same partners welcomed the move? Wow....

Let's also hear your thoughts on steve jobs stealing somebody's liver...

Re:10th story and counting (1)

YetAnotherForumAcc (2431122) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127724)

That must be why Samsung is re-evaluating it's options.

http://mobile.reuters.com/article/idUSTRE77G1HX20110817?irpc=932 [reuters.com]

They would be fools to rely on Google now, Google would be directly competing with them.

Google will always have the edge, being the makers of the OS, they control the features nd they have "first access".

Re:10th story and counting (1)

YetAnotherForumAcc (2431122) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127710)

Really modded down because you disagree with me.

Why do I bother anymore?

Re:10th story and counting (1)

andydread (758754) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127910)

You have any proof that the Ipad is an original idea because I have proof that its not. Who did Apple copy is the real question. [dailymail.co.uk] So its ok for Apple to steal the idea from the originators of the idea? This hypocrisy from Apple followers is astounding. We know the real reason for all this recent Google hate. Anyone with a brain can see right through this charade. The massive amounts of negative comments started right around the time when Apple and Google parted ways. its obviously because the Apple fanatics along with paid astroturfers have started to attack Google, lobbing accusations that Google is copying Apple. The Apple fanatics and mad that Google has threatened Apple's stint at world domination.

The notion that if somebody makes a box shape with 4 wheels and anyone else that does the same is copying is ludicrous. The same thing with sillyness applies to Apple and their followers. The notion that if you make a tablet that is rectangle with rounded corners and a bezel with an operating system is copying Apple is laughable if it wasn't so serious. What gets me is that the Apple fanatics would rather see a world where no one competes with Apple. They want to see a world without choice. Because Apple can do no wrong. If Apple copies other people's ideas then thats OK. Its getting a bit old. Your Dear Leader Steve Jobs does not walk on water. Get over it.

Re:10th story and counting (1)

bonch (38532) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126510)

With the constant love that Google and its products get on Slashdot and have gotten for over 10 years, you're bothered by some negativity? Is Slashdot supposed to ignore judicial events like this because Google was on the losing side?

Just to get Technical (2)

fortfive (1582005) | more than 3 years ago | (#37125234)

The Judge *denied a motion,* not *dismissed a complaint.*

Yet, after 8 years, scox never showed code (0)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37125350)

Why is it the courts always seem biased in MS's favor?

Here's the secret, bro... (1)

Anonymous Coward | more than 3 years ago | (#37125752)

It's about money, dude. MONEY.

Must be read (0)

kentsex (2433846) | more than 3 years ago | (#37126220)

Every day it is becoming more and more apparent that the Android was built using "hot" parts. The "criminals" in this instance [goo.gl] , the ones trying to intervene, are going to be made to pay.

Any objections to this ruling (1)

ThatsNotPudding (1045640) | more than 3 years ago | (#37127858)

are to filed at the courthouse in Redmond, WA.
Check for New Comments
Slashdot Login

Need an Account?

Forgot your password?